My Quiet Is Heavy

image

My quiet is heavy.
Overwhelmed by media biases and
The current mood of this nation.
Another reminder as to why
My black feelings don’t exist.
And my black trauma is perceived.
In the meantime,
Another Trayvon got shot tonight.
His killing unjustified
And prefaced with,

“But he wasn’t about that life.”

At the age of ten my son
Has already been dehumanized
Because of his caramel colored skin.

“My father said people with brown
Skin cannot come to our house.”

There are not enough psychologists
To handle racially triggered P.T.S.D.

Profiling.
Injustice.
History.
Love.

My quiet is heavy.

(C) 2013
brownsugatou

Leave a Reply

